Research Lab

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​contact
Max-Bürger-Forschungszentrum (MBFZ)
Johannisallee 30
04103 Leipzig
fax: +49 341 - 97 25849

 

PD Dr. phi​l. nat. habil. Jes-Niels Boeckel

Group leader „Non-Coding RNAs in Cardiovascular Diseases"

E-Mail: Jes-Niels.Boeckel@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25846

The progressive development of whole genome sequencing revealed, that less than 2 percent of the human genome encodes for proteins. In contrast, a large part of the genome is transcribed into RNA. The remaining transcripts are defined as non-protein coding RNAs, such as microRNAs (miRNAs), long non-coding RNAs (lncRNAs) and circular RNAs (circRNAs). These non-coding RNAs have various cellular functions by regulating protein coding gene expression. Non-coding RNAs were implicated in development and progression of cardiovascular diseases. Understanding the processes mediated by non-coding RNAs underlying these diseases may help providing innovative therapy concepts.

 

Dr.rer.nat. Susanne Gaul

Group leader „Cardiovascular inflammation"

E-Mail: Susanne.Gaul@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25844

Inflammation plays a major role in the initiation and progression of atherosclerosis and leads to potentially life-threatening clinical manifestations such as stroke or heart attack. In response to danger signals, activation of pattern recognition receptors (PRRs) may lead to chronic inflammation. It is also becoming increasingly clear that failed resolution of a chronic inflammatory response is an important driving force in the progression of atherosclerosis. We seek to understand the mechanisms how innate immune response and metabolic inflammation drive cardiovascular diseases and affect cell-cell communication. Understanding the mechanism of triggering and resolution of inflammation in the cardiovascular system will open a new chapter in the pathogenesis of immunometabolic diseases and will help to develop novel therapeutic strategies for prevention or treatment of cardiovascular diseases.

 


Dr. Alexander Kogel
Arzt in Weiterbildung

E-Mail: Alexander.Kogel@medizin.uni-leipzig.de​​

 


Dr. Paulina Stürzebecher
Ärztin in Weiterbildung

E-Mail: Paulina.Stuerzebecher@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

 

Jasmin Kneuer (M.Sc.)​​
Naturwissenschaftliche Doktorandin

E-Mail: Jasmin.Kneuer@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25811

 

Karoline Kokot (M.Sc.)
Naturwissenschaftliche Doktorandin

E-Mail: Karoline.Kokot@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25812

 

Christina Mäder (M.Sc.)
Naturwissenschaftliche Doktorandin

E-Mail: Christina.Maeder@medizin.uni-leipzig.de​




erbe.jpg

Stephan Erbe  (M.Sc.)

Naturwissenschaftlicher Doktorand

E-Mail: Stephan.Erbe@medizin.uni-leipzig.de​

​ 


RÖxe.jpg


Tino Röxe
Medizinisch​​-Technischer Assistent

E-Mail: Tino.Roexe@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25845

​ 



Anna Marie Müller (M.Sc.)
Biologisch-Technische Assistentin

E-Mail: Anne.Mueller@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25827

 



Anja Barnikol-Oettler
Biologisch-Technische Assistentin

E-Mail: Anja.Barnikol-Oettler@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25827

​ 


 

Melanie Winkler (cand. med.)
Medizinische Doktorandin

Tel: 0341 - 97 25846

​ ​


Roberto Baumann (cand. med.)
Medizinischer Doktorand

Tel: 0341 - 97 25846​

 

Vanina Filipova (cand. med.)
Medizinische Doktorandin

Tel: 0341 - 97 25846​

 

Julian Hoba (cand. med.)
Medizinischer Doktorand

Tel: 0341 - 97 25846​

  

 fürle.jpg

Valerie Fürle (cand. med.)
Medizinische Doktorandin

Tel: 0341 - 97 25846

​ ​

 

Marie Schubert (cand. med.)
Medizinische Doktorandin

E-Mail: Marie.Schubert@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25846

​ ​

​​

 

Sascha Rittig (cand. med.)
Medizinischer Doktorand

E-Mail: Sascha.Rittig@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25846

 

Tim Meinecke (cand. med.)
Medizinischer Doktorand

E-Mail: Tim.Meinecke@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25846

 

Maximilian Möbius-Winkler (cand. med.)
Medizinischer Doktorand

E-Mail: Maximilian.Moebius-Winkler@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25846

 

Lena Opitz (cand. med.)
Medizinische Doktorandin

E-Mail: Lena.Opitz@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25846

​ ​

 

Michael Andritschke (cand. med.)
Medizinischer Doktorand

E-Mail: Michael.Andritschke​@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Tel: 0341 - 97 25846

​ ​

 

Liebigstraße 20, Haus 4
04103 Leipzig
Telefon:
0341 - 97 12650
Patientenmanagement:
0341 - 97 12656
Fax:
0341 - 97 12659
Map